jump to navigation

AS3 Code Libraries (APIs) October 3, 2010

Posted by Tournas Dimitrios in Frameworks.
trackback

Here is a round up of some of the most popular ActionScript 3.0 (AS3) libraries out there to use. Let me know if I have missed an important one off.

Note : This  article is written by Adrian Parradrian from this site .

This list  it is not intended to compete with or replace the list maintained by OSFlash.

Update 29/10/08: Ted Patrick has put together a list of ActionScript Cloud/Service APIs that he going to highlight during his Adobe MAX 2008 keynote presentation.

Update 28/11/08: I have just come across the Actionscript Classes website. A very handy resource.

Update 11/01/09: Rich Tretola has a small list of AS3 Libs on his blog EverythingFlex.

Update 12/01/09: The Flashchemist has compiled a similar list on his blog.

Update 27/02/09: Check out Spark Project which includes the FLARToolkit for Augmented Reality

Update 11/08/09: I just stumbled across this (old) list of projects.

Update 19/12/09: Sean “theflexguy” Moore has just written a blog entry called ‘List of 34 More ActionScript 3.0 APIs‘. This is a follow-up to his original post ‘List of 22 ActionScript 3.0 API’s‘.

Update 22/12/09: “30+ ‘Must Try’ Open Source Actionscript 3 Libraries” and “30 MORE Awesome Open Source AS3 Libraries

Update 28/01/10: “30 Classes AS3 bem úteis!”

Update 29/01/10: “15 Awesome ActionScript 3 Frameworks To Inspire Your Next Project”

Update 24/02/10: Emanuele Feronato has a good list of Isometric Engines on his blog

Update 19/03/10: Tom Krcha has posted a list of Flash Gaming Engines, plus a few others that were new to me

Update 09/07/10: FluxDb has a huge list of AS3 Libraries

3D Engines

3D Game Engines

2D Game Engines

Isometric Engines

3D Animation Framework

3D Physics Engines

Augmented Reality

Animation Tweening Engines

2D Physics Engines

Security

Audio Libraries

Particle Systems

Data Visualization

Loading Kits

OOP Frameworks

Other APIs and libraries

Comments»

1. Romu - October 3, 2010

Thanks for the links.
They are tons of posts listing AS3 libraries. This site is trying to put them together, I think it is a very good idea.
http://fluxdb.fluxusproject.org/

2. bet365 italia - October 5, 2010

hello!This was a really superb website!
I come from roma, I was luck to find your blog in wordpress
Also I learn much in your subject really thank your very much i will come again

3. RiyaButler - May 25, 2011

Hi there,
I’m an American. I really want to Put together an Animation Studio in India. At present i’m browsing for computer animators. I selected India considering that it is less expensive as compared to U.S. I need to know the operations for starting up a business enterprise in India, primarily an animation studio.

Can you fellas please help me out?

tournasdimitrios1 - May 25, 2011

@RiyaButler
Sorry , I can’t answer your question . My country is about 6000km ( 3700miles) from India .
Good luck with your new Animation Studio .

4. Annetta - November 22, 2012

Awesome read. I just passed this onto a buddy who was doing some research on that. He actually bought me lunch since I found it for him! Thus let me rephrase: Thank you for lunch!


Leave a comment